Almond-Anise Biscotti from Veganomicon

almond-anise biscotti

All this talk of baking inspired me to pull out the recipe books last night to find something to make. We had a bag of almonds in the pantry from last month’s visit to Kai Tika food co-op, and I wanted something like a cookie. The index of Veganomicon had a few ideas about what to do with almonds, including Almond-Anise Biscotti.

When I started drinking coffee as a teenager, I’d order a biscotti with my mochaccino and feel like I was the height of sophistication. Biscotti was a trend treat in Auckland for a few years: the pre-Sex and the City answer to the cupcake. I haven’t eaten biscotti in a few years, and I remember soon after I decided to be vegan, thinking that biscotti would be impossible to make vegan. For some reason I thought that eggs were the key.

Not so: these were not hard to make at all (though took a while – they’re baked twice and need to cool in between). Ground flaxseeds take the place of eggs as a binding agent, and the flavour combination of anise seeds (The Spice Trader from Sabato) and almond extract (Flavorganics from Harvest Wholefoods) was complex and special. I took most of the batch to work, where three different people declared that it was the best biscotti they’d ever eaten.

You can find the recipe on Google Books, but you really should buy your own copy of Veganomicon if you don’t have it already.

 

Bake a difference

This post is part of my virtual vegan bake sale for Blind Week. Please give generously to make the world a better place for blind and partially sighted New Zealanders.

3 thoughts on “Almond-Anise Biscotti from Veganomicon

  1. I’m embarrassed to admit that I am still the type of person who considers a mocha with biscotti the height of sophistication 🙂 Awesome baking series – I’m inspired to rattle the pans this weekend.

Leave a Reply

