Egyptian breakfast from Queenie’s

kosheri

I wrote a while ago about the brown rice porridge at Queenie’s Lunchroom, and before that I wrote about a breakfast of sides they had made me. It’s always been a welcoming and lovely place to eat, despite not specifically advertising vegan options.

The porridge has been off the menu for a while, but what’s been on instead is this: Egyptian Kosheri – a simple bowl of lentils and rice with wilted spinach. It’s served with a salad on the side that normally contains yoghurt, but this can be left out.

I’ve had this a couple of times now, and love its subtle, savoury flavours and its inclusion of lentils as a breakfast food. I hope it’s still on the menu the next time I visit, but if not, I look forward to seeing what other vegan-friendly options Queenie’s invents in the future.

4 thoughts on “Egyptian breakfast from Queenie’s

  1. It’s really easy to make too, there is a great recipe in the ripe cookbook which I’ve tried a few times, also possibly means ripe sells it sometimes ?

  2. Was there recently, nothing vegan on the menu. So it was the old avo on toast trick. Sadly even the bread had dairy, so it had to be the expensive gluten free bread. Oh well, it’s still a nice place and my carnivorous friends really enjoy the variety on the menu.

  3. I really wanted to try the kosheri when I was there yesterday. They told me the onions were cooked in butter, and already prepared in the dish.

Leave a Reply

