Vegan things I have eaten at Mexico

dinner conversation

As a news story, this blog post is well overdue. Mexico has been serving its vegan-friendly take on Mexican-inspired food since 2012, and I’ve been eating there almost as long. So, this is not a news story, but a big list of various things that Mexico has fed me at different times, and a recommendation to try it some time, if you haven’t.

Mexico’s menu changes every three months to make the most of fresh, seasonal ingredients. There are usually a couple of things on each menu that are vegan by default (listed on their website and in a chart on the wall), as well as a few vegetarian options that can be prepared vegan.

 

crispy chickpea taco

The menu always includes a vegetarian option on its list of soft-shell tacos, which can almost always be made vegan. Tacos I’ve eaten include:

& various others I didn’t take pictures of.

 

corn chips & salsa

Other things I’ve eaten at Mexico over the last couple of years include:

and various other delicious snacks & margaritas.

 

candle in a glass

Mexico has four locations in Auckland: at Britomart, and in Takapuna, Ponsonby and Ellerslie. All four are open seven days, noon until late.

2 thoughts on “Vegan things I have eaten at Mexico

  1. Yum! Taco Tuesday. Taco everyday. My favourite of these tacos has probably been the zucchini blossom. Can I just say that my favourite thing about Mexico is that they’ll serve you food at odd hours? It’s the perfect I’m hungry for lunch at 2:30PM fix.

  2. Thanks for the email. I have always been a bit wary of Mexican eateries so it is great to know you have checked them out and can recommend them.

Leave a Reply

